A thorough look at the short stretch of South Coast Mainline that was abandoned in 1883 when a diversion was made to accommodate the new triangular junction just east of the River Arun.
Starting at the east end, near the site of the old Lyminster station, the course of the track bed is followed in a westerly direction. The site of the old farm access bridge is reached and at this point some vintage footage from January 1975 is included, showing the demolition of the bridge and filling in of the cutting. Progressing further west sees the course of the line entering the “triangle” and a considerable struggle ensues to navigate this heavily overgrown stretch of embankment. Further vintage clips are included showing trains travelling the junction in 1975.
All the vintage footage was provided by the landowner from his personal collection and it has never been seen publicly before, making for a unique take on this quiet, rarely mentioned stretch of disused railway.
Includes constant, well informed commentary.